PHYSICAL FORMS: WHO GETS WHAT!
Nebraska law requires children upon entry into the beginner grade, 7th grade, or transferring from an out-of-state school, to have a physical examination within 6 months prior to school entrance.
Nebraska law requires children entering the beginner grade or transferring from an out-of-state school to provide proof of vision evaluation within 6 months prior to school entrance. This evaluation is to include testing for amblyopia, strabismus, internal, and external eye health, and visual acuity.
This basically means:
- Out of state transfer students and kindergartners must get a physical & vision exam prior to the start of school. These students get the 2 sided form.
- Returning 7th graders and 7th graders transferring within the state need the one-sided form that is indicated for 7th graders.
- There is the possibility that some 7th graders will be transferring from out-of-state and these students need both physical and vision exams and must also use the 2 sided form.
- Regarding the vision exam: The elements of this eye exam can be done by any health care provider (including MDs, ODs, PAs, APRNs) and DOES NOT require an eye specialist. Of course, an exam by an eye specialist is also acceptable, but it is not mandatory to see one to meet this requirement.
All students in 8-12th grade and plan to participate in EPS athletics will be required to turn in an athletic physical form.